The Lens Of A FAMU Student

Only At FAMU… (Most Of The Time) Could This Happen!

Getting Back To My Roots

Posted by thelense on Saturday, September 27, 2008

I had the pleasure of attending African Religious Practices in Florida Conference. It was hosted by the Florida A&M University Office of Black Diasporan Culture. I really didn’t know what to expect going into the event because I was merely invited by someone I knew, but I went in with a open mind and a willingness to learn something new which is always a good approach. The objective of the conference was to help educate and expose a population to the concepts and ideas associated with African religious practices in teh state of Florida and provide dialog regarding various views about three (Yoruba, Palo, Aken) of the African Religions from historians, educators, researchers, and practitioners.

I arrived at the event, got my package, and took a seat on the front row so I could be up close with the panelist and soak in all that I was hearing. I also wanted to have a good shot of the speakers. The event didn’t start exactly on time so I recorded some of the really nice artwork and jewelry on display.

African Diasporan Artwork

Occasion & Libation (ritual pouring of a drink as an offering to a god)

Spaeker Olorisha Nzinga Metzger, Ph.D. Cultural Anthropology

Speaker Awo Facundo Harris

Olorisha Nzinga Metzger, Ph. D. Sings African Song

Very interesting and rewarding experience, definitely glad I went.

One Response to “Getting Back To My Roots”

  1. Loren said

    the song is very beautiful.

Leave a Reply

 
