The Lens Of A FAMU Student

Only At FAMU… (Most Of The Time) Could This Happen!

I’m Heated

Posted by thelense on Monday, September 22, 2008

It takes a lot to make me mad, and it takes even more to piss me off. But someone talking about my school? Someone talking about the Florida A&M University that I attend? Yeah that sets me off and brings my inner temperature to a good 140 degrees. Now I normally dont mind when close minded individuals who are usually black put down my school, but an incident tonight really took the cake. So imagine im talking to someone online and they tell me how their “friend” doesnt know why they want to attend FAMU. Personally the “friend” doesnt see whats so great about FAMU anyway. This “friend” would much rather attend Duke University. Now its all fine and well that you want to attend Duke, but what you will not do is put my school down in the process. I strongly feel that people are entitled to their own opinions but not their own facts. And the fact of the matter is that Florida A&M University is the number one school in america for black students. Maybe Duke is just hiding its numbers on its black graduate numbers? Whats really sad is when black people dont support black institutions. Its not even that FAMU necessarily needs the support of individual close minded black students, we are doing pretty darn well for the most part if you ask me. Most of these students wouldn’t even be able to walk on the campus of a duke university if it wasn’t for schools like FAMU breaking down barriers and showing that black students are capable of high scholastic achievement. Last time I checked FAMU has been accepting black students since 1887, which is over a 120 years. Duke University didnt admit its first black student until 1961 a little over 40 years ago. My FATHER IS FREAKING 40 years old.. thats a problem. But this “friend” doesn’t know whats so great about Florida A&M University? Maybe the fact that its been accepting and educating black students for over 100 years? Someone please tell me im dreaming. Sadly im not and this is the reality of the world we live in. But yeah just had to get that off my chest!!!!!

3 Responses to “I’m Heated”

  1. Loren said

    Plus you can just rape black girls down at Duke and get away with it! I think FAMU is great and i don’t even go there.

  2. CerealKilla said

    I agree…!
    FAMU today, FAMU tommoroow, FAMU FOREVER!!

  3. Shante said

    FAMU = LOVE! ; )

    People should knock what they know absolutely nothing about. And its ppl like that that come here and end up loving it.

Leave a Reply

 
